Everything about Me

join me on my debt free journey! Read all about the events that happened to lead this 22 year old towards getting out of debt


I am so glad that you stumbled upon my blog and my crazy life! Welcome! In case you have missed my story along the way, I wanted to make sure that you are totally filled in.

My name is Elyse and I am 23 years old. I started my #debtfreejourney on January 1st, 2017 with $900 in credit cards, $2,500 in car payments, and over $31,000 in student loans. It all totaled out to be about $34,000 in debt. At 22 years old, I felt severely anxious for my future.
I got my Jeep (my baby) right before my 22nd birthday. Before then, I had never had a loan for a vehicle and I actually didn’t have any credit cards.

I was a waitress at Applebee’s (and I still am) and had my income all over the place. It was so easy to throw money away on food and drinks after work because it was just a small portion of my income. I was always earning more cash the next night. My bills were getting paid. But I just had $1,000 in a savings that I couldn’t get to easily.

My car before had started to die and I was so stressed out about getting a new vehicle. I asked my dad what he thought about getting a loan. After being turned down twice on my own for $2,500, I went to my dad to co-sign. I am so thankful that my dad took the risk for me because it brought me to my debt free journey.

Right after I got my Jeep, I was cleaning off my bookshelf and found my copy of Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover. It practically fell from the shelf. I took this as a sign from God that my life needed to change. This book changed my life. I read it and started working away. I got another job, started this blog, and got trained as a bartender.

It hasn’t been easy, but it has been worth it. I have done this entire journey as a single, millennial woman. In the last 16 months, I have put close to $21,000 towards my debt. I have about $15,000 left to pay off. I will be #debtfreeat23.

After everything is paid off, I plan on buying a house and raising a few goats and a few puppies. I can’t wait to live a life full of adventure after I have no payments.

Through the whole journey, God has seriously blessed me with countless opportunities, lots of lessons to learn, and fantastic jobs that I wasn’t really qualified for. God has given me the resources and the courage to be successful along this journey!

Updated Statistics (As of March 2019)


I paid off $36,495 in 26 Months!

I finished paying things off 27 YEARS ahead of my minimum payment schedule.

Now, I am saving my emergency fund and working on saving for a house!